Ecole Polytechnique, Laval University, McGill University, Sir George Williams College, University of Montreal, Assumption College, Carleton College, McMaster University, Ontario Agricultural College, Ottawa University, Queen's University, St. Patrick's College, University of Toronto, University of Western Ontario, University of Manitoba, University of Saskatchewan, Mount Royal College, University of Alberta, University of British Columbia, Victoria College.

The University Naval Training Divisions' program offers undergraduates of all faculties four years of instruction leading to a commission in the Royal Canadian Navy and Royal Canadian Navy (Reserve). It is designed to produce officers in all branches and, to this end, offers training both ashore and afloat.

Training is taken at Naval Divisions and at universities during the academic year. Summer vacation training is taken both in the schools at the coasts and in H.M.C. ships.

Approximately 1,000 undergraduates took training in the 1947-48 academic year. In 1946-47, 16 commissions were obtained and 30 University Naval Training Divisions' men were commissioned upon graduation during 1948.

The Royal Canadian Sea Cadets.—The R.C.S.C. consists of 89 authorized corps, sponsored by the Navy League of Canada and trained and supervised by the Naval Service. The authorized strength is 10,000 cadets between the ages of 14 and 18 years. During a period of two summer months, at seven different camps maintained for their training, 4,000 cadets averaged 14 days each.

Subsection 2.—The Canadian Army

Command.—The system of command of the present peacetime Canadian Army includes:—

Army Headquarters—Ottawa, Ont. (subdivided)
The General Staff Branch
The Adjutant-General Branch
The Quartermaster-General Branch*

Western Command—Headquarters, Edmonton, Alta. British Columbia Area—Headquarters, Vancouver.

Prairie Command—Headquarters, Winnipeg, Man. Saskatchewan Area—Headquarters, Regina.

Central Command—Headquarters, Oakville, Ont. Western Ontario Area—Headquarters, London. Eastern Ontario Area—Headquarters, Kingston.

Quebec Command—Headquarters, Montreal.
Eastern Quebec Area—Headquarters, Quebec City.

Eastern Command—Headquarters, Halifax, N.S. New Brunswick Area—Headquarters, Fredericton.

Northwest Highway Command—Headquarters, Whitehorse, Yukon.

Canadian Army Liaison Staff-Washington, D.C.

Canadian Army Liaison Staff-London, England.

Army Headquarters conducts the planning and policy for the administration and training of the Active and Reserve Forces of the Canadian Army. It administers corps schools and other training establishments. Matters affecting Public Relations, Cadet Services, Military Intelligence, Chaplain Services, Provost and associated activities are directed by Army Headquarters through Commands.

^{*} Includes the Branch of the Master-General of Ordnance.